Literary Mama writing about the many faces of motherhood
If You Love Me So Much Make Breakfast In Bed For Me Next Week

No comments

A totally fun getaway for Mother's Day weekend for women who want to write, make art, hot tub and relax in the redwoods.

May 7-9 at Salamander Camp in the Santa Cruz Mountains, $325 Deadline to register is April 17th

Please join writer and teacher, Laurie Wagner and a handful of other great women for our Altered Books/Story Slices Retreat in the Santa Cruz Mountains, a weekend of play, intuition, risk and aliveness. You don't have to be an artist or a writer to join us, just someone who wants to use art and writing as a way to hone into a more instinctual, intuitive place within yourself.

A mere 50 minutes away from Oakland, Salamander Camp is a heavenly oasis tucked into a magical forest. The property has three huge yurts, one for sleeping, one for cooking and the other to play and make art in. There is also a gorgeous, sunny deck, a hot tub, a cold pool, showers and a big meadow.

Altered Books start as old, used books which get cut, ripped, collaged and painted. We use buttons, beads string, paper, glitter, metal, glass, photos and our own wild writing to make these objects our personal storybooks. The weekend will alternate between writing and art making, hot tubbing, and relaxing in the redwoods. Participants will arrive by 5 on Friday May 7, and head home on Sunday, May 9th by 4.

Get in touch with Laurie Wagner to find out more and reserve your spot. Laurie-wagner@sbcglobal.net or call 510 703-4030


Amy Stockwell Mercer is a freelance writer living in Charleston, SC with her husband and three sons. An MFA graduate in Creative Writing from Queens University, she writes about art and artist profiles for Charleston Magazine, The City Paper, Charleston Art Mag, and Art Papers. Amy also writes about living with chronic illness, and is finishing a book about women with diabetes for Demos Health. When she needs to get out of her own head, she teaches college students how to write the 5 paragraph essay. You can read more of her writing at her website.


More from



Comments are now closed for this piece.